Devices reference
iPhone Model Number Lookup – Identify iPhone by Axxxx Number
Identify an iPhone from its Axxxx model number using Apple’s current model list, with generation, year, region, storage capacities, SIM configuration and distinguishing features.
| Model Number | iPhone | Generation | Year | Region | Capacity | SIM Configuration | Key Characteristics | Record details |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| A1897 | iPhone 8 Plus | 8 series | 2017 | Not specified by Apple | 64 GB, 128 GB, 256 GB | nano-SIM | 5.5-inch display; Two rear cameras; Touch ID Home button; Aluminum frame | → |
| A1898 | iPhone 8 Plus | 8 series | 2017 | Japan | 64 GB, 128 GB, 256 GB | nano-SIM | 5.5-inch display; Two rear cameras; Touch ID Home button; Aluminum frame; Japan-specific LTE band support | → |
| A1660 | iPhone 7 | 7 series | 2016 | Not specified by Apple | 32 GB, 128 GB, 256 GB | nano-SIM | 4.7-inch display; Touch ID Home button | → |
| A1778 | iPhone 7 | 7 series | 2016 | Not specified by Apple | 32 GB, 128 GB, 256 GB | nano-SIM | 4.7-inch display; Touch ID Home button | → |
| A1779 | iPhone 7 | 7 series | 2016 | Japan | 32 GB, 128 GB, 256 GB | nano-SIM | 4.7-inch display; Touch ID Home button; FeliCa support for Apple Pay in Japan | → |
| A1661 | iPhone 7 Plus | 7 series | 2016 | Not specified by Apple | 32 GB, 128 GB, 256 GB | nano-SIM | 5.5-inch display; Touch ID Home button | → |
| A1784 | iPhone 7 Plus | 7 series | 2016 | Not specified by Apple | 32 GB, 128 GB, 256 GB | nano-SIM | 5.5-inch display; Touch ID Home button | → |
| A1785 | iPhone 7 Plus | 7 series | 2016 | Japan | 32 GB, 128 GB, 256 GB | nano-SIM | 5.5-inch display; Touch ID Home button; FeliCa support for Apple Pay in Japan | → |
| A1723 | iPhone SE (1st generation) | SE (1st generation) | 2016 | Not specified by Apple | 16 GB, 32 GB, 64 GB, 128 GB | nano-SIM | 4-inch display; Touch ID Home button | → |
| A1662 | iPhone SE (1st generation) | SE (1st generation) | 2016 | Not specified by Apple | 16 GB, 32 GB, 64 GB, 128 GB | nano-SIM | 4-inch display; Touch ID Home button | → |
| A1724 | iPhone SE (1st generation) | SE (1st generation) | 2016 | Not specified by Apple | 16 GB, 32 GB, 64 GB, 128 GB | nano-SIM | 4-inch display; Touch ID Home button | → |
| A1633 | iPhone 6s | 6s series | 2015 | Not specified by Apple | 16 GB, 32 GB, 64 GB, 128 GB | nano-SIM | 4.7-inch display; Touch ID Home button | → |
| A1688 | iPhone 6s | 6s series | 2015 | Not specified by Apple | 16 GB, 32 GB, 64 GB, 128 GB | nano-SIM | 4.7-inch display; Touch ID Home button | → |
| A1700 | iPhone 6s | 6s series | 2015 | Not specified by Apple | 16 GB, 32 GB, 64 GB, 128 GB | nano-SIM | 4.7-inch display; Touch ID Home button | → |
| A1634 | iPhone 6s Plus | 6s series | 2015 | Not specified by Apple | 16 GB, 32 GB, 64 GB, 128 GB | nano-SIM | 5.5-inch display; Touch ID Home button | → |
| A1687 | iPhone 6s Plus | 6s series | 2015 | Not specified by Apple | 16 GB, 32 GB, 64 GB, 128 GB | nano-SIM | 5.5-inch display; Touch ID Home button | → |
| A1699 | iPhone 6s Plus | 6s series | 2015 | Not specified by Apple | 16 GB, 32 GB, 64 GB, 128 GB | nano-SIM | 5.5-inch display; Touch ID Home button | → |
| A1549 | iPhone 6 | 6 series | 2014 | Not specified by Apple | 16 GB, 32 GB, 64 GB, 128 GB | nano-SIM | 4.7-inch display; Touch ID Home button | → |
| A1586 | iPhone 6 | 6 series | 2014 | Not specified by Apple | 16 GB, 32 GB, 64 GB, 128 GB | nano-SIM | 4.7-inch display; Touch ID Home button | → |
| A1589 | iPhone 6 | 6 series | 2014 | Not specified by Apple | 16 GB, 32 GB, 64 GB, 128 GB | nano-SIM | 4.7-inch display; Touch ID Home button | → |
| A1522 | iPhone 6 Plus | 6 series | 2014 | Not specified by Apple | 16 GB, 64 GB, 128 GB | nano-SIM | 5.5-inch display; Touch ID Home button | → |
| A1524 | iPhone 6 Plus | 6 series | 2014 | Not specified by Apple | 16 GB, 64 GB, 128 GB | nano-SIM | 5.5-inch display; Touch ID Home button | → |
| A1593 | iPhone 6 Plus | 6 series | 2014 | Not specified by Apple | 16 GB, 64 GB, 128 GB | nano-SIM | 5.5-inch display; Touch ID Home button | → |
| A1453 | iPhone 5s | 5s | 2013 | Not specified by Apple | 16 GB, 32 GB, 64 GB | nano-SIM | Touch ID Home button | → |
| A1457 | iPhone 5s | 5s | 2013 | Not specified by Apple | 16 GB, 32 GB, 64 GB | nano-SIM | Touch ID Home button | → |
| A1518 | iPhone 5s | 5s | 2013 | Not specified by Apple | 16 GB, 32 GB, 64 GB | nano-SIM | Touch ID Home button | → |
| A1528 | iPhone 5s | 5s | 2013 | Not specified by Apple | 16 GB, 32 GB, 64 GB | nano-SIM | Touch ID Home button | → |
| A1456 | iPhone 5c | 5c | 2013 | Not specified by Apple | 8 GB, 16 GB, 32 GB | nano-SIM | iPhone 5c physical design documented by Apple | → |
| A1507 | iPhone 5c | 5c | 2013 | Not specified by Apple | 8 GB, 16 GB, 32 GB | nano-SIM | iPhone 5c physical design documented by Apple | → |
| A1516 | iPhone 5c | 5c | 2013 | Not specified by Apple | 8 GB, 16 GB, 32 GB | nano-SIM | iPhone 5c physical design documented by Apple | → |
| A1529 | iPhone 5c | 5c | 2013 | Not specified by Apple | 8 GB, 16 GB, 32 GB | nano-SIM | iPhone 5c physical design documented by Apple | → |
| A1532 | iPhone 5c | 5c | 2013 | Not specified by Apple | 8 GB, 16 GB, 32 GB | nano-SIM | iPhone 5c physical design documented by Apple | → |
| A1428 | iPhone 5 | 5 series | 2012 | Not specified by Apple | 16 GB, 32 GB, 64 GB | nano-SIM | iPhone 5 physical design documented by Apple | → |
| A1429 | iPhone 5 | 5 series | 2012 | Not specified by Apple | 16 GB, 32 GB, 64 GB | nano-SIM | iPhone 5 physical design documented by Apple | → |
| A1442 | iPhone 5 | 5 series | 2012 | Not specified by Apple | 16 GB, 32 GB, 64 GB | nano-SIM | iPhone 5 physical design documented by Apple | → |
| A1431 | iPhone 4s | 4s | 2011 | Not specified by Apple | 8 GB, 16 GB, 32 GB, 64 GB | Micro-SIM (3FF) | Stainless steel frame | → |
| A1387 | iPhone 4s | 4s | 2011 | Not specified by Apple | 8 GB, 16 GB, 32 GB, 64 GB | Micro-SIM (3FF) | Stainless steel frame | → |
| A1349 | iPhone 4 | 4 series | 2010 (GSM); 2011 (CDMA) | Not specified by Apple | 8 GB, 16 GB, 32 GB | No SIM tray (CDMA model) | Stainless steel frame | → |
| A1332 | iPhone 4 | 4 series | 2010 (GSM); 2011 (CDMA) | Not specified by Apple | 8 GB, 16 GB, 32 GB | Micro-SIM (3FF) | Stainless steel frame | → |
| A1325 | iPhone 3GS | 3GS | 2009 | Not specified by Apple | 8 GB, 16 GB, 32 GB | Mini-SIM (2FF) | Plastic back housing | → |
| A1303 | iPhone 3GS | 3GS | 2009 | Not specified by Apple | 8 GB, 16 GB, 32 GB | Mini-SIM (2FF) | Plastic back housing | → |
| A1324 | iPhone 3G | 3G | 2008; 2009 (China mainland) | Not specified by Apple | 8 GB, 16 GB | Mini-SIM (2FF) | Plastic back housing | → |
| A1241 | iPhone 3G | 3G | 2008; 2009 (China mainland) | Not specified by Apple | 8 GB, 16 GB | Mini-SIM (2FF) | Plastic back housing | → |
| A1203 | iPhone | Original | 2007 | Not specified by Apple | 4 GB, 8 GB, 16 GB | Mini-SIM (2FF) | 5.42-inch display | → |
Enter an Apple hardware model number such as A3634 or A3575 to identify the matching iPhone. This database includes every A-number in Apple’s current iPhone identification list, from the original 2007 iPhone through iPhone 17e.
How to find the A-number
- Open Settings, tap General, then About.
- The first value beside Model Number is usually an Apple part number. Tap it once to reveal the shorter hardware model number beginning with A.
- On an iPhone 7 or earlier, the A-number may be printed on the back.
- On an iPhone 8 or later with a SIM tray, Apple says the number is inside the SIM-tray slot. Trayless models show it inside the USB-C or Lightning connector.
How to read the results
The iPhone column uses Apple’s product name. Generation groups closely related models into a practical family such as 17 series or SE (3rd generation). Year and Capacity preserve the options in Apple’s identification list. Capacity shows the storage sizes offered for that iPhone family; it does not determine the capacity of the phone in your hand.
Region describes where Apple associates that A-number when the identification page provides a market. Some older entries list several A-numbers without assigning a country to each one; those rows say Not specified by Apple instead of guessing. A region label also does not guarantee local carrier compatibility, because supported bands, carrier activation and regulatory features can differ.
Understanding the SIM configuration
SIM hardware changed across iPhone generations and markets. Early models used mini-SIM or micro-SIM, later models moved to nano-SIM, and iPhone XS, XS Max and XR introduced eSIM support in supported markets. Apple says iPhone 13 models and later can also use two eSIMs. United States variants of iPhone 14 and later are trayless, while the iPhone 17 family extends trayless hardware to additional markets. iPhone Air is eSIM-only in every listed region.
China mainland, Hong Kong and Macao need special handling. Apple lists dual nano-SIM hardware for selected models, while eSIM availability follows separate regional rules. The table applies Apple’s current guidance to the stated A-number region. For older A-numbers with no region assignment, it reports that eSIM or dual-SIM support varies rather than inventing a market. Carrier support is still required for eSIM activation.
Common iPhone model-number questions
Which iPhone is A3634?
A3634 is an iPhone 17e variant for countries and regions outside Apple’s separately listed A3575 and China-mainland A3635 markets. Apple lists 256 GB and 512 GB capacities for the iPhone 17e.
Which iPhone is A3575?
A3575 is iPhone 17e for the United States, Puerto Rico, Bahrain, Canada, Guam, Japan, Kuwait, Mexico, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. Virgin Islands. This hardware has no physical SIM tray and uses eSIM.
Why does one iPhone name have several A-numbers?
Apple can issue different hardware variants for cellular bands, SIM arrangements and regional requirements. They share the same marketing name but have different A-numbers.
Is the number beginning with M, N, F or P the A-number?
No. That longer value is an Apple part number. In Settings, General, About, tap the displayed Model Number value to switch to the hardware identifier beginning with A.
Can an A-number tell me the phone’s storage capacity?
It identifies a hardware variant that may have been sold in several capacities. Check Settings, General, About, or iPhone Storage to see the installed capacity of a particular device.
Does the region prove that an iPhone is carrier-unlocked?
No. Region identifies the hardware market associated with the A-number. Carrier-lock status belongs to the individual device and must be checked separately.
Apple can revise model and SIM guidance when new devices or regional services launch. If a row no longer matches Apple’s current documentation, use Report incorrect data and include the relevant Apple Support link.
Provenance